Here's What Our Guests Say

We post all of our reviews (as quickly as possible for a one person operation.) The content format may vary due to the changes in how the different listing sites (Airbnb, VRBO, HomeAway, and Flipkey) collect/post the review. VRBO/HomeAway and Airbnb automatically solicit and post reviews from guests who have stayed at the property.


 
HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews

Owner is Friendly and Attentive to Help Guests

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Claudia - January 2018

El lugar es maravilloso, si buscas descansar del bullicio de la ciudad, tiene una vista hermosa y es bastante cómoda. La propietaria es muy amable y siempre al pendiente de ayudar a los huéspedes.

(Translation: The place is wonderful, if you are looking for a break from the hustle and bustle of the city, it has a beautiful view and is quite comfortable. The owner is very friendly and always attentive to help guests.)


I Recommend this a Million Times!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Iesha - January 2018

My stay at the Conley house was beyond amazing. Lisa was kind and accommodating during unexpected situations. The home was beautiful, clean , so many unique pieces to admire, and the most stunning views!!! I recommend this home a million times.

My public response

Thank you again, Iesha! I look forward to seeing your wedding pictures. It means so much to us that you chose to have such a momentous occasion at our vacation home :-)


Really Super Nice!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Emma - December 2017

Accurate pictures this place is really super nice!


Great Christmas Retreat!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Abigail - December 2017

Highly recommended, one of the best air b&b we’ve stayed at. Warm, stylish, with an amazing kitchen, it was a great Christmas retreat. The beds were comfy, the house was very clean, and the view was spectacular.


Perfect Getaway!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Molly - December 2017

We had the best time at The Conley House for our Christmas vacation. The hosts have thought of everything. The cabin is filled with little details making it even more accommodating and relaxing. The yard was perfect for dogs and our Annabelle turned into a snow dog during the trip. We had almost 14 inches of snow during our stay, making the views even more magical. The host took customer service to a new level by touching base to ensure we felt comfortable with driving in the snowy conditions, even had someone plow the drive for us to allow ease of travel. Luckily, we had 4WD to make manipulating the terrain easier. On the last morning of our trip, we had some unexpected visitors as two does and a giant buck made their way through the mountain snow right behind the cabin, a beautiful sight. We checked out the charming town of Spruce Pine. We also visited the Biltmore Estate during our stay, only an hour drive from the cabin. We also day-tripped through Linville and on to Banner Elk, a mountain ski town with great shops and dining. Note: In Linville, stop in at the Linville River Mercantile for coffee, cider, hospitality and desserts to die for. We would love to return in warmer months to enjoy the craft community a bit more, to hike and see some waterfalls and to experience more of the Spruce Pine shops and dining. We definitely recommend The Conley House! Kudos to our hosts!

My Response

Thank you so much, Molly. You all were true adventurers! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back soon. :-)


Tranquil Perfection!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Susan - November 2017

We came for our first ever stay in this area, bringing friends and 2 sets of dogs. You step into a setting that is warm, inviting, and visually rewarding— the inside showcases local art and ceramics. Furnishings are comfy, functional and thoughtfully chosen. Any- and everything you might need in a kitchen was available. I tend to travel with my own favorite kitchen implements, but put them all back in the car:) The property itself is beautiful with stunning views and a lovely terrace. Within 5 minutes of arriving, we knew we were coming back!!

My Response

Thank you so much Susan! We hope to see you again soon.


Very Well Designed and Outfitted Cabin in Exceptional Location

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: David - September 2017

We rented the cabin for two weeks in September, 2017 and have rebooked for three weeks in September, 2018. The cabin is very well designed and decorated - minimalist/rustic with all the creature comforts - a pitch perfect mountain esthetic. The furniture is comfortable and there is very good ambient lighting at night. The unit is clean with good bed linens/towels (all washed w/no scent detergents) and the kitchen is charmingly functional - we cooked all nights save two. The views are nothing short of exceptional, both from inside the unit and out on the terrace. The location was better than we expected - you are isolated enough to have unadulterated vistas from the property but can get to Spruce Pine, the parkway, and Asheville very easily. We had a splendid time at Conley House.

My Response

Thank you both so much for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again next fall.


Rustic, Inviting Hide-away with a Fabulous View!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Linda - August 2017

We enjoyed staying here so much that we've booked again for next year. Lisa has thought of everything her guests need because she stays there, too. Even pottery and copper pans in the lovely kitchen!

My Response

Thank you, Linda! We look forward to seeing you come back again next summer :-)


Lovely Stay and Host!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Alisa - August 2017

The photos really can't do the Conley House justice. Everything that we needed in the house was there. A rental that even has a sharp knife!? Unheard of in my travels. All the living spaces were very comfortable. We spent most of the time on the back patio. What a view! My family really enjoyed our time there and Lisa was very helpful and quickly responded to any inquiries. We hope to be back!

My Response

Thank you so much! What kind words. All the best until we have you again. :-)


Beautiful House, Beautiful View

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Kathleen - July 2017

Conley House was our home away from home for three weeks, and we couldn't have made a better choice. The house itself is thoughtfully and artistically furnished, and comes with a fully stocked kitchen and plenty of room for a family gathering or a group of friends. There is a large dining room table for serving meals, but we ate all of ours out of doors on the patio overlooking one of the finest mountain views we've ever seen in North Carolina. The towns of Bakersville, Burnsville and Spruce Pine -- short drives away -- offer restaurants, art galleries, farmers' markets and shopping, while Asheville at an hour away is a good deal larger and always a treat to visit. There are hiking trails for all levels in warm months and skiing in winter. Owner Lisa Smith was delightful and always ready and available to answer our questions.

My Response

Thank you for the kind review and for choosing to stay with us again next year. We can't wait to have you back!


Outstanding

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Mark - stayed June 2017

Outstanding. A beautiful, tranquil place with incredible, long range views of Roan mountain and Mount Mitchell. Spotless and comfortable, lightfilled and spacious quarters augmented with original art and local pottery from the Penland area. Helpful and responsive owners. Restaurants, galleries, groceries, parks and spectacular hiking opportunities close by. I would absolutely stay here again.


Everything We Could Have Hoped For

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Alexis - stayed May 2017

The pictures don't do it justice. The house setup is perfect. It feels like home the moment you walk in! Lisa was a fabulous virtual host! The drive there gets less scary with every venture out 😁� Crabtree Falls was an amazing hike. We also went up to Roan Mountain and hiked to one of the balds there - stunning views!!

My Response

Alexis, thank you for such a kind review. My husband and I have spent many years living in the much flatter lands of Southern Illinois, so I can relate. Though the bends and turns take a bit of getting used to, it is what makes the views in the mountains so grand! :-) Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to you and your family visiting again soon!


Gorgeous Views & Great Choice of Activities

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Cecilia - stayed November 2017

Gorgeous views, great choice of activities in the surroundings, very clean and comfortable cabin, has everything you can need for a pleasant stay.


Spacious & First Class Decor is Inspiring To Say the Least

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Barbara - stayed August 2017

Public feedback

Conley House has the best view in NC! It's spacious first class decor is inspiring to say the least. We especially loved the artistic details throughout the house and the book collection was an unexpected treat. We used the herbs in the garden and dined outside every night. We had a memorable week and thank you Lisa for being such a super host.

Private feedback just for the host:

Thanks Lisa for being so available to us with all of our questions. We loved your home, it was perfect in every way. Conley House has the best view in NC!


Amazing...You Almost Don't Want to Leave the House

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Ellen - stayed July 2017

Public feedback

If you want an amazing view and a beautiful, comfortable house to stay with family, this is the house for you. It is at the top of a mountain hill and area is secluded and breathtaking. You almost don't want to leave the house to go anywhere once you're there!

Private feedback just for the host:

The house, like I mentioned before, was a work of art. We were all so comfortable in the house, the set up and everything. Thank you for being so easy to get in touch with, that helped a lot to make it a great vacation.


A Great Scenic Escape with All the Modern Amenities

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Greg - stayed May 2017

Lisa's home was stunning. The design was exquisitely modern/mid century with wood diversity and beautiful metal throughout. The home is truly a work of art. The breathtaking mountain views can't be captured in pictures - you just have to experience for yourself. Don't think you'll find a place like it in this area with views inside and out. The surrounding Penland area has wonderful arts, craft and pottery exhibits that only enhance the experience. Lisa was very accommodating and made sure we were taken care of well. This is a great scenic escape combined with all the modern amenities you could ask for and more.


Cannot Put Into Words the View We Had Every Day There

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Erin - stayed May 2017

We stayed at Lisa's for a family vacation. We cannot put to words the view we had every day there! While the house was secluded, it was a short drive to anything we needed and all the outdoor activities we did was not that far either. The house is so unique and we enjoyed every minute there! We highly recommend staying if you are looking for a mountain get-away.


Peaceful and Rejuvenating

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Candace - stayed April 2017

The Conley House is a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax in the stillness of nature. It is peaceful and rejuvenating. The home is exceptionally clean and has spectacular views of the mountains. Lisa couldn't have been more helpful and responsive. I recommend not relying on GPS for navigation while there. It is rather remote and your GPS will want to take you on gravel back roads that form a maze. We are still laughing about Barely (a road) and Hardly (a road). Barely will eventually get you there but it's not recommended at night!


Oh and the Tub!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Taashia - stayed March 2017

This place was amazing, eccentric, modern and comfortable. everything you need and more. Great views from any room in the house. And oh my the tub.. I could sleep there. No weird smells Or anything sketchy just an amazing view of God's green earth!!


Great Stay All Around

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Barbara - stayed March 2017

My husband and I loved this beautiful home. It was well stocked and the views were spectacular. We will definitely be back in warm weather to experience even more that the area offers. Managed to trout fish in the snow and had a great time! Great stay all around.


The Beds Were So Comfortable

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Megan - stayed March 2017

The cabin was GORGEOUS! Along with the view, jet tub, and beautiful kitchen as well! The beds were so comfortable and it was very easy to feel at home.


Feel Like a King On Top of the World!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Anya - stayed Feb 2017

The place is WONDERFUL! First of all, it is very clean. The decorations are very tasteful and it is fully equipped with anything you may need. Anything in the kitchen you need, you will find it. Plenty of towels, blankets, etc. Had a queen size blow up mattress that was a size of a regular bed almost. Very handy for extra guests. Push the button and its ready. Washer and dryer if needed. The bedrooms are large and beds are very comfortable. Loved the living room. The best gathering spot. Plenty of seating. The scenery is GORGEOUS. Mountains everywhere and you feel like a king on top of the world! Wonderful patio with seating outside. We used the firepit. Kids loved the smores. We drove to sugar mountain to snow tube. Took almost an hour from the cabin, but it was a pretty drive and we had a blast. We ate at a Mountain View restaurant, that's the actual name for it. It's in Marion. It was great. Excellent views. The cabin was spacious! Do buy plenty of groceries because --you may not want to leave. Once you get there its not too simple to get out. Curvy roads... It was nice to know that we are fully stocked with food and we can just enjoy and drink more wine, and not have to worry about leaving the cabin. I recommend this place 100%. Also Lisa communicated VERY WELL. All my questions were answered quickly and she gave so many suggestions. She truly wanted us to have a great time. It was my husbands 40th Birthday. Thanks Lisa! Many memories were made in your cabin. God bless your family!


A Perfect Airbnb

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Timothy - stayed February 2017

The Conley House is a perfect Airbnb- wonderfully unique, well-decorated and thoughtfully designed, in an area surrounded by stunning views of the mountains, quiet and relaxed. I'd love to visit again, and highly recommend it!


Artistic Touches in Every Room

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Susan F. - stayed March 2017

A truly remote mountain getaway that is full of all comforts of home. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms clean. Artistic touches in every room. Spent a lot of time in the cabin, due to the inclement weather conditions, and was glad to have some entertainment (tv system, games, etc). The surrounding area is a beautiful mountainous town. Great, great views from the cabin, the best in the area! Close to hiking (Roan Mt.), small town discovering, and art ( i.e. Penland school of Crafts-go there, it's pretty cool). Asheville was an hour drive, but mostly on secondary highways, that made it more interesting. The owners were very quick to respond to emails when we had questions about the house and the area. Loved our stay!


Very Comfortable and Delightful Cabin

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Kim - stayed February 2017

The views of the Black Mountains are wonderful! Love the rustic and open feel of the cabin! All of the comforts of home not to mention access to wifi, movies, and music. Close to Ashville, Blue Ridge Parkway, Lake James, etc. We had a wonderful time!


Don't Mind a Little Drive, Book this ASAP

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Ervis - stayed February 2017

To say that my family enjoyed this charming home is an understatement. We picked it for the view and were not disappointed. When we drove up the driveway and expectantly unlocked the front door and it was such a relief to see how much it felt like home. There were so many personal details in the house you can tell how much the owners care for the space and the people who are their guests. While the main living space is a modest square footage the open floor plan and wall of windows makes it seem as if the whole mountain was part of the house. The house and rooms were spacious and clean and although we did do a bit of driving for excursions, some of our favorite memories are those when we just hung out at the house and spent time together. This house as coined by a neighbor and local potter has a "million dollar view" and they are not exaggerating. While the local towns that surround it (Spruce Pines, Bakersville) ,while I am sure are beautiful in the summer and fall, during the winter could leave little to the imagination. Many of the yards and homes are unkempt and were not masked by the vibrant foliage of warmer seasons. Do not expect much to do locally in those areas BUT the people are some the kindest around. We were about 1 hour away from Grandfather Mountain, Asheville, Lenior Falls (highly recommend), and in the winter some ski resorts. As we were staying in the winter we had ladybug visitors in the house which our kids loved! We even heard wolves howling on one cold night and were able to take our boys outside to listen, such a special memory to make with them. Could not say more about the customer service of Lisa she went above and beyond. The beds and pillows were large, comfortable, and clean. There was also plenty of blankets and even a dog toys, and no rinse dog shampoo for our pet to enjoy. In the closet we found extra soap, razors, and conditioner which was so thoughtful and saved us a trip. Besides the views our favorites were 1. Only seeing 2 neighbors from the home 2. Having shrubs surrounding the house on the hill so that while all of the windows are open you cannot see inside the house from down on the street 3. A fully stocked kitchen and unique dishware 4. Jetted tub in master bath 5. Being in the middle of nowhere but having all the amenities (internet, Netflix, Amazon's Alexa) properly working and available to us. If you want a mountain retreat that is secluded and don't mind a little drive book this ASAP.

Response from Lisa:

Thank you Ervis for the kind review. While there isn't as much to do in the off-season (January -early March), the area is rural and beautiful and the people, as you found, are very friendly - a great way to get back to what matters - family, friends and relaxing. Thank you for staying with us.


Lisa Couldn't Have Been More Helpful!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Kat - stayed November 2016

Lisa couldn't have been more helpful!! Leading up to be trip she gave me so many ideas about things to do in the area. She was also quick to respond answering questions while we were there! I can't even explain what waking up to that view was like ! It's absolutely breathtaking especially early in the morning and at sunset. The surrounding little Christmas tree farms were also amazing to look at!

What Kat loved about your listing: 
The view and how stocked the house was. Everything we needed was available.

What Kat thought you could improve about the experience: 
Maybe purchase one of the movie programs to use like HBO or showtime

Response from Lisa: 

Waking up to that view when you first open your eyes in the morning is one of my favorite things about the master bedroom. I am so glad you enjoyed it! And, thank you for the suggestion, Kat! I hope you can visit again, soon! 


Best Airbnb I've Stayed In!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Ben - stayed December 2016

Best AirBnB I've stayed in. Gorgeous house, everything you need is there, Lisa was so helpful and I just didn't want to leave. Stay here if you can!

Private Feedback: 
Lisa! Thank you both so much. What a beautiful house, everything was so perfect. Just love all the details. Thank you!!


Great Homebase for Exploring Penland Area

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Bob - stayed December 2016

Great comfortable home base for one or two couples exploring the Penland School area.

PRIVATE FEEDBACK: Another great weekend... and we will be back!!


Easy to Feel At Home

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Gordon - stayed December 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The house was comfortable and nicely decorated. The kitchen was stocked with seasonings, pots, pans and cutlery for cooking. There is a very nice entertainment system which we used for music. In general, it was easy to feel at home. The location is pretty secluded which is great for relaxing (we only left once to go for a hike at Carver's Gap). The mountain view from the back yard is amazing and we spent a lot of time on the patio. I can't think of anything more I would want for a peaceful getaway. Lisa and Rick were friendly and accommodating. Overall, this was a great place to stay!

Response from Lisa: 

Thank you, Gordon. Hope you can come back soon.


Tranquility at Its Best! 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Eric - stayed in November 2016

We love the seclusion and modern touches of the home. The views were breathtaking! It was a perfect location to have three generations together for a wonderful and memorable Thanksgiving!

My Response

It is always an honor helping families come together! Thank you for staying with us. We hope you can return again soon.


Quiet, Modern, Breathtaking!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Anonymous - October 2016

The property is every bit as advertised and more.

Response from Lisa: 

Thank you for staying with us! That is very kind!


We'll Definitely Be Back!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Molly - stayed November 2016

Absolutely loved our vacation here, and we'll definitely be back next year! Thanks, Lisa! :)

Lisa

Response from Lisa: 

Any time! ;.) Thanks for staying with us, Molly!


At the End of the day,

the sunset view from each & every room was amazing!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Patrick - stayed October 2016

The house was a wonderful retreat! The view is even better than the pictures. We loved the custom touches around the house and all the handmade plates bowls and mugs. But at the end of the day, the sunset view from each and every room was amazing. Will definitely recommend to everyone.

Private Feedback: 
The house was a wonderful retreat! The view is even better than the pictures. We loved the custom touches around the house and all the handmade plates bowls and mugs. But at the end of the day, the sunset view from each and every room was amazing. Will definitely recommend to everyone.

Response from you: Thank you so much, Patrick! Hope you can come back to visit soon!


Wonderful Retreat in the Mountains!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Ulrike - stayed October 2016

We had a great time in this very well equipped place with the great view. We enjoyed the autumn colors so much. The house is marvelous .

My Response

I am so glad! It is always wonderful to have international guests visit. Hope you can come back soon!


Quiet, Modern, and Breathtaking

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Anonymous - stayed October 2016

The property is every bit as advertised and more.

My Response

Thank you! That is very kind!


Mountains Majesty

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Glen C. - stayed October 2016

This home is very welcoming and has the most wonderful views as if the comfort of the place wasn't enough. Right in the middle of the high country and accessible to the Parkway and all the attractions that draw us all to the Linville Falls Area. I have been staying in this area for the past twenty years and must admit this will be my choice for a home to borrow while in the mountains henceforth.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers,

My Response

We are so honored! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing such a nice review. We look forward to having you back!


Soaking Up the Sun, Breezes, Sunrises and Sunsets, Fires, Stars & Moon!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Michele C. - stayed October 2016

We have been anticipating our recent trip to Lisa’s “Conley House” and the Penland area since mid-summer. Because we had stayed in a different property owned and managed by Lisa before, we knew that we would not be disappointed, and surely this property and surrounding grounds is simply inspiring. The house is well-appointed in every way imaginable from the artistic beauty and comfort of the indoor living areas and great amenities, to the outdoor terrace and fenced yard which was wonderful for our two dogs. Everything is cleanly understated with little to detract from the mountain views. The original metal sculptures inside are stunning to view as the light changes, if you pop indoors for a beverage or sweater. Lisa is attentive to any request whether it be for local places to hike, eat, drink and shop/visit, as well as how to manage a canine visitor who came by to play with our dogs (and thankfully didn’t stay long). Even after hiking and visiting potteries and galleries, we spent lots of time outdoors during every time of day, soaking up the sun, breezes, sunrises and sunsets, fires, stars and moon. What a relaxing gift it has been to stay in this perfect place. We highly recommend this house to anyone looking for private peacefulness in WNC.

Response from you: Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, Michele. We hope you all come back again soon.


we have found a home here

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

From: Denise G. - stayed October 2016

Tears upon arrival and tears when leaving! That pretty much sums up our stay at the Conley House! This was our second stay at this amazing lodge and it just gets better. Amazing views, comfort, outstanding customer service from Lisa, good food, relaxation, and a spiritual recharging were all on the menu. We have traveled many places, but we believe we have found a home here. We look forward to coming back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers,

My Response

We are so touched. Thank you, Denise! It makes us so happy to help guests have a relaxing and re-invigorating escape. We are honored that you chose to stay with us again.


Great, well provisioned house, beautiful view!

From: Jim S. - stayed September 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Clean, spacious, great location, generously provisioned.....the best in the area and we have stayed in many.

My Response

Thank you so much for such high praise! We hope to have you all back again soon.


View Heaven and Living Among the Arts

From: Nancy - stayed August 14

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

ALWAYS a treat to be at Conley House. CANT BEAT THE VIEWS.

My Response

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, Nancy! We loved having you back!

Lovely North Carolina mountain home

From:  Kay - stayed July 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I just returned from 17 nights at Conley House and agree with everything previous tenants have said. It is a very special place and I feel very fortunate to have had time there. I was in a program at Penland and my hiking friends from Washington joined me for a carefree vacation. As the end of my stay neared and my friends had gone, I tried to book additional time in house. It was difficult to leave and I hope to return next year. As others have noted, the owners are extremely responsive and truly want to make your mountain experience special.

My Response

Thank you, Kay! I hope you get more time to relax on your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.

The Mountain Views Were Breathtaking!

From: Kelly - stayed July 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We had a wonderful stay at the Conley home! It felt very warm and welcoming! The mountain views were breathtaking! Our family enjoyed grilling out, roasting marshmallows, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains and tubing down the Toe River! Great place to relax and enjoy being outdoors!


STUNNING, SERENE, SECLUDED

From:  Christine - stayed July 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This home was exactly what we were looking for!! It was hard for us to leave and we will be coming back. The minute you walk in you feel right at home! It's spotless and has all of the essentials. Besides the view the bath tub in the master was my favorite. ;-) 
We took a day trip up to Asheville for snack, shopping and massages it was only about a 45 minute drive. We also went into Banner Elk for some white water rafting and then Little Switzerland to check out Linville Caverns both of these are a short 30-40 minutes.
It was the best vacation I've had in a very long time. You will be truly grateful for selecting this home for your vacation!!!! 
P.S. The owner Lisa is amazing very friendly, accommodating, and extremely quick to respond!

My Response

Thank you, Christine. I hate to be left hanging or wondering if I will receive a response, so I try to respond as quickly as I can to everyone - guests and people interested in staying alike. Thank you for the compliment and sharing the places you visits. We are so glad you had a lovely stay. Thank you for choosing Conley House! We hope you come back soon!

Serenity

From: Gwen - stayed July 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Left on Jul 25, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016

The cabin was beautiful, the grounds lovely, and the view to die for. The cabin was well-appointed and we lacked for nothing. LIsa is very quick to respond to any questions or needs. We will plan on returning in the future! The driveway is steep and we were glad we had a truck to get up to the house.


Great Cabin!

From: Chad - stayed June 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We spent a week here. The cabin is great - beautiful views, close to Penland, the N. Toe River, and just a short drive to both Bakersville and Spruce Pine. The kitchen is modern and well appointed, nice open layout, and comfy bedrooms. Overall, a wonderful stay; couldn't have asked for anything more.

My Response

Thank you for the review! Also, thank you for being such a considerate guest. Hope to have you all back again soon!


Great views, perfect house for extended family

From: Trent - stayed June 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We had 4 adults, 2 kids, 1 dog and stayed for 4 nights. The house is the perfect layout with 2 master bedrooms and the family/living room in the center. 2nd house offers a secluded bedroom as well. Beds and linens were very comfortable. The mountain view is mesmerizing, and the Christmas tree farm below just adds to the ambiance. Fire pit, charcoal grill and table that seats 8 on the patio were the perfect place to gather after checking out the nearby sights. The yard is fenced in and dog friendly as well as beautifully landscaped. High end appliances and cooking utensils included. Lisa has all the necessities available that you could need, and communication was perfect. Groceries were readily available at Ingles market in Spruce Pine. This place is slightly off the beaten path, but it makes it so much better. Special recommendations for the Mutt Hut (dog daycare) and The Tropical Grill in Spruce Pine. Grandfather Mountain is worth the price (coming from a Colorado boy) and Linville Falls should not be missed. I would highly recommend for a peaceful getaway and home base for national park ventures.


Beautiful house, very comfortable with great views.

A beautiful area, had a great time.

★ ★ ★ ★ 

From: Bruce - stayed June 2016

A very nice, comfortable house. Great views and the area is beautiful. We had a great time there.


The Pictures Don't Do It Justice Even on the Inside!

From: Tim - stayed April 2016

Absolutely loved the cabin, the pictures don't do it justice even on the inside of the cabin. Feels rustic and modern, not the typical cabin with the overly saturated orange wood. Amazing views all day long and close enough to so many trails. Provided everything we needed and more. The beds were more comfortable than a hotel, even the carpet felt like new. Had no problem getting up the driveway in my Camry. Would highly recommend this to anyone and am still recommending it to all my friends.


Enjoy NC mountains and the Conley House

From: Mike and Jamie - stayed April 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our getaway to Conley House proved to be a relaxing fun filled week, despite the cold, windy weather. We did get to enjoy the patio the first day and it was relaxing just taking in the scenery. It was wonderful waking to the purple mountain majesty as the sunrise cast a purple hue on the mountains. The cabin was extremely clean, beautifully decorated and the kitchen had everything you needed for cooking. The beds were extremely comfortable. We explored the area from Roan Mountain to Little Switzerland and included some visits to local wineries….Banner Elk being our favorite. There is a lot to do in the area. Enjoying the cabin for a relaxing get away is certainly recommended. Lisa was very responsive to my questions and was very helpful in giving advice on things to do in the area. We would highly recommend this rental.


Easy Drive to Linville Falls, Linville Caverns, Asheville,

and Grandfather Mountain. Perfection!

From: Helen - stayed March 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My family and I had the most amazing week at Conley House. Everything was perfect from the mountain view, to the gorgeous well-appointed kitchen to the lovely amenities (i.e. bath salts, essential oils, plush towels, basket of cozy blankets for cool nights). The fenced in yard was great for my children and climbing up the mountain in the backyard was a great family adventure. I can't say enough about Lisa's availability and responsiveness to any and all questions we had. She overwhelmed us with her hospitality! The location of the house is central to many mountain activities...an easy drive to Linville Falls, Linville Caverns, Asheville, and Grandfather Mountain.


Such a Cool, Unique Home

From: Michael - stayed April 2016

Great time in a beautiful home/setting. Such a cool, unique home. Plenty of open space to enjoy. Met some people in downtown Spruce Pines, that knew of the house we were staying in, told us the history of the home. That people come just to stay there...due to it's architecture and location. I understand why.


Spruce Pine is a Town to Watch!

From: Meg - stayed March 2016

This place is heaven, plain and simple. Lisa could not have been more present and available had she been next door, suggesting places to eat (Pig & Grits in Burnsville -- YUM!) and Spoon in Spruce Pine (fantastic!) among others, hikes, etc. (Spruce Pine is a town to watch, it's likely to become a hot spot in the next couple of years.) The house was spotless, and had a Zen like peacefulness about it. We made a fire outside and sat and watched the sun set, the full moon rise, and the stars appear one by one. We never watched TV, can't think why you would when you get to watch the mountains from anywhere in the house. Fantastic bathtub with jets, and wonderful bath products -- soaking salts, essential oils, etc. This place is perfect, and we'll go back there every chance we get!

OWNER'S RESPONSE: Thank you for the kind words and high praise. Vacations go by so quickly, which is why we try to respond to our guests' texts and emails within an hour, preferably within minutes. That way they get to spend every moment of their getaway making a memory. Spruce Pine reminds me of Gatlinburg from when I was a child, back before it became so touristy. Spruce Pine has long been a favorite for people coming from Charlotte, Asheville and Knoxville and now it seems more and more people from further away are finding out about it, too. Thanks again for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for staying with us!


Already Planning Our Trip Back This Fall!

From: Lee - stayed February 2016

My wife and I highly recommend this location. We stayed here for four days and had an *amazing* and very relaxing time. The location and view, as you can see from the pictures, is splendid. There are great hikes just a short drive away, and right up the road is the Penland School of Crafts, where the artists in residence will be glad to show you their work. The nearby town of Spruce Pine has a great restaurant/bar pairing, and then you can come back and have a fire in the fire pit :) The hosts reply to communications very rapidly and were hugely helpful during our stay. We are already planning our trip back this fall.


The Cabin is Beautiful . . .

Great Amenities, Including a Well Equipped Kitchen!

From: Andrew - stayed February 2016

Everything was as described and I found this a great spot for a quiet and relaxing getaway. The cabin is beautiful and had great amenities, including a well equipped kitchen and a nice area outside to enjoy the fresh air. Definitely would recommend to others and hopefully will be back at some point myself.


Wonderful experience...Beautiful views!

From: Kelly - stayed Christmas 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We enjoyed our stay! The views are as beautiful as the photos show...the breathtaking Blue Ridge mountains can be seen from every room. The cabin was also as wonderful as the photos show. The separate "master" bedrooms worked well for our family. Plenty of room and open space...excellent for entertaining. Loved the high end appliances, cookware, etc...truly a cook's kitchen. Great communication with owners...made sure we had everything we needed. Would love to go back!


Very Comfortable and Roomy

From: Robert - stayed December 2015

The house exceeded our expectations. Very comfortable and roomy for two couples with a great atmosphere for dinners and relaxing. Lisa was helpful and responsive.


The Area of Spruce Pine through Bakersville is Magical!

From: Diana - stayed November 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Conley House was the best Thanksgiving experience I've had. The home itself was beautiful both inside and out. All the home decor is from local artists so it was very special to see where a mug or plate or wall decor came from. To pull off an entire Thanksgiving dinner in her kitchen shows how well stocked and nice the house is. A nice afternoon walk down Conley Ridge Road is like walking back in time to quaint mountain log homes to a river with a train track. The area of Spruce Pine through Bakersville is magical. Small towns with quite a cool vibe. Lisa was so incredibly helpful and accommodating when we called her several times. She was always ready to help and get us what we needed. Dinner and Sunday brunch at Knife and Fork in Spruce Pine is a must. Also Lisa recommended Rivers Edge Outfitters for fly fishing which was also a great experience. We are definitely looking forward to coming back to this very special place!


One Level with Two Master Suites was Perfect

From: Pauline - stayed October 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We just got back from a fantastic week at the Conley House. The house is super and the views are amazing. My parents joined my husband and me for a few days and the property being on one level with two master suites was perfect.

We enjoyed visiting many of the local potters and other area artists and came home with many beautiful reminders of our trip. I would highly recommend this property and hope to stay there again.


Amazing House & Hospitality from Lisa and Rick

From: Denise and Mike - stayed September 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

There doesn't seem to be words to describe our experience here at Conley House. The views were second to none and the amazing house and hospitality from Lisa and Rick - awesome - to say the least! Our every need was satisfied and we wanted for nothing in this heavenly NC lodge.

We enjoyed grilling here many nights, as well as eating at our favorite places: The Knife and Fork, The Mountain View Restaurant and The Tropical Grill. Visits to Linville Falls, Mt. Mitchell and the Roan were breathtaking and amazing! The art galleries and Helping Hands massage center were inspiring! We love this place and will ceertainly plan to stay during our visit next year!


Great Customer Service and a Great Place to Stay

From: Liz - stayed September 2015

Good Morning Lisa -
We had a great weekend and the cabin was awesome! No complaints and the weather turned out in our favor. Thank you again for great customer service and a great place to stay. We will be back! 

Take care, Liz


Only Negative... It's Not Mine ;.)

From: Linda - stayed August 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our family of 8 brothers and sisters used this awesome cabin to reconnect after our parent's passings several years ago. Our mother was born and raised in nearby Spruce Pine North Carolina. First of all, this place has the most amazing view in North Carolina in my opinion. The cabin it's self has all the modern conveniences. Everything we could of possibly needed was anticipated by the owners and put at our fingertips. It was evident that the owners truly want you to use their property as if it is your own. This place felt like home and that's a great feeling when you are away from your own home. The beds where the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I have back issues and was worried that I would miss my sleep number bed, but no, not one back problem while there. I loved sleeping with the windows open enjoying the night sounds and breathing the fresh, rich mountain air. This cabin has amazing craft pieces that contributes to it's uniqueness. (a mix of modern and rustic). 


The master suite rivals a 5 star hotel. And a gourmet kitchen stocked with everything anyone could possibly use. The outdoor space was set up for maximum enjoyment. Our family enjoyed the firepit chats in the evening with lots of old memories recalled and new ones made. We will definitely be using this Mountain top get away again. Only negative...it's not mine ;.)

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Listing Exceeded My Expectations Across the Board

From: Kevin - stayed August 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Lisa was very helpful and communicative, and the listing exceeded my expectations across the board. The view was fantastic, the kitchen had everything we needed and more and the bedrooms, bathrooms and living spaces were all very nice. My mother, sister, wife and I enjoyed the artistic touches, and the outdoor areas were private and peaceful. I'd recommend this space to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


Close to Penland - Lovely Views of the Mountains!

- It will be our First Choice!

From: Nancy - stayed August 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Conley House is just the place to stay if you are looking to be close to the art of the Penland area of NC, but also want to feel remote and have the lovely views of the mountains. We are "into" the arts and crafts of the area; and it's fabulous to live surrounded by the art and artists who make it all possible. We will definitely try the Conley House again when we're next back in the area. It will be our first choice!

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Nicer Than Expected! Would Stay Again!

From: Daniel - stayed July 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A fantastic place to spend a few days with friends. Lisa's cabin and guesthouse were nicer than we expected. Spent 4 days cooking, hiking, and just relaxing with 2 other couples. Would stay here again!


The Fireflies Were Amazing, like Christmas lights in the trees!

From: Suzanne - stayed May 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We spent a lovely 2 weeks at the property. My husband worked from the house in the morning, I went to Penland for the day, and kids and husband went on adventures in the afternoon. We would regroup for dinner in the well equipped kitchen and eat outside on the patio overlooking one of the best views from the mountain. Couldn't ask for a better home base. Slept great though there was a cardinal who was sure his reflection was a challenger to his domain in the mornings. House is great for family of four, adults on one end, kids on the other. The fireflies were amazing, like christmas lights in the trees. Lots of art studio tours in the area. The drive between Penland was winding and about two miles, never tempted to walk it and took it slow at night. The bath in the master was amazing relief after a long day of work in the studio. Would definitely stay again next visit.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Overlooks 3000 Christmas Trees. Minutes Away from Penland School!

From: Lela - stayed July 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This cabin is STUNNING! The views are amazing from each + every room and the house is brimming with special touches. We enjoyed the open floorplan, the lovely patio, the well-manicured grounds and chic modern decor. I appreciated that our dog was welcomed and that Lisa quickly + thoroughly answered questions both before + during our 2 week visit. The house was very tidy + well-stocked with comfortable beds and an ample kitchen. Penland School is about 2 miles away and the area is rich with artists + pottery studios. The house is quite obviously well-loved and the flower gardens were a welcome surprise! We spotted an abundance of deer, bunnies, squirrels, etc. on the main road. Having hot tea on the patio while overlooking 3,000 Christmas trees + a handful of majestic mountains was a blood-pressure-reducing treat and I hope to return soon! Two quick thoughts: a) The house doesn't currently have central AC, though there are several fans provided. One of the weeks we stayed was unusually hot and we ventured to a local store to purchase 3 more mondo-sized fans to keep us comfortable. If you're traveling in warmer months, it might be wise to bring along a few fans from home. b) The gravel driveway is steep and the house is located on a rural (read here: unpaved) road. We brought both our sports car + our SUV. The sports car was pretty useless on that driveway. I vote for utilizing a 4WD vehicle if possible. Don't let either of these things deter you from selecting Conley House. The house + view are absolutely worth running fans + the slow, winding drive! Locally, we enjoyed: a) Knife & Fork was FABULOUS... one of the loveliest lunches I've had in a while. b) The Artist Studios at Penland School are absolutely worth a visit. c) Scenic hikes abound. Thank you Lisa + Rick!

Owner Response:  I am so glad you all had a good time and I really appreciate the feedback. We bought the property earlier this year and because of feedback like yours we are looking into solutions for those days when the temperature is unseasonably warm, as well as for paving the drive way. My Honda sedan will make it no problem, but I can see how sports cars and other really low to the ground vehicles would have a problem getting up the driveway. Thanks again! I hope you have a lovely summer!

UPDATE:  Conley House has installed air conditioning and a new heat system! Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it!

 


Beautiful View of Blue Ridge Mountains!

From: Michelle - stayed in late June 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Lisa was a terrific host and the cabin was just as described. What a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a charming place to stay! The fans/blowers were a lifesaver as the weather was unseasonably hot the weekend of our stay.

Response from Lisa: Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a good time. I am sorry it was a little warmer than usual during your stay and wanted to let you know that we are looking into a better cooling solution for the house. Have a great rest of the summer. I hope you come back soon!


Magical Mountain Oasis - Just down the road is Penland School of Crafts

From: Heather - stayed May 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We truly enjoyed our stay in this magical mountain oasis! The pictures do not do it justice. The view is amazing from every room and there are interesting and artistic touches throughout. Beds are very comfortable & plenty of extra blankets and pillows in supply. Big open space can accommodate a large group. Wonderful extra amenities like grill, fire pit, heated floors, netflix, roku, and a fabulous studio space just steps away. The host, Lisa, was very communicative and informative with no surprises. Always got right back to us and tried to accommodate each request we had. It is a good 45 minute drive to Asheville but the drive is beautiful. Just down the road is Penland school of arts, and there are also many local artisans w/in walking distance, and they are definitely worth a visit to learn their craft or purchase unique goods to bring home. You will be impressed & enjoy your stay in this special home.


LOVE the big family room and gourmet kitchen! Close to Everything!

From: Vickie - stayed May 2015

The house is wonderful and the view can't be beat! LOVE the big family room and gourmet kitchen! And it's close to everything - great art, shopping, and hiking - while being far enough off the beaten path to really enjoy true peace and quiet! We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away.

Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway


Beautiful Views in Every Room!

From Sheryl - stayed April 2015

Was a wonderful vacation for our family in the mountains. We enjoyed the local artists and purchases we made there. [The] area is full of great and friendly people who were all very welcoming. This home was very well equipped for cooking as we had Easter dinner while. The area is full of things to do for all ages. Shopping, sights, hiking, zip lining was another fun activity for our daughter. Our dog also seemed to enjoy his stay. The home was spacious and has beautiful views in every room. We loved or stay and sophomore norm hesitate to return.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Romantic Getaway

Gorgeous Views of the Blue Ridge Mountains!

From: DJ - Stayed February 2015

The Conley House was PERFECT!!! We have been friends for years and dreamed of a couples retreat. It was easy to make the plan and, after seeing the pictures, Conley was our choice. We had so much fun kicking back, playing board games, watching movies and touring the local artists with the pottery trail. With Asheville so close, we even toured the Biltmore and had a couple of days in the city. Every morning we woke up with a gorgeous view and the sunsets were breath-taking! We even saw the snow clouds rolling in the last day we were there. The views from every room are incredible. The very best part of our trip was that hubby and I got to cuddle in our own little suite with the garden tub. I had never gotten to watch a movie in the tub before now. What a wonderful experience! Our trip to the Conley House was the first of many sweet memories we will make there! We can not wait to go back and maybe we will take the kids and the dogs next time!! All one on level, the house is accessible for anyone and makes it easy to enjoy. I highly recommend the Conley House for any occasion!

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  People with Disabilities,  Romantic Getaway


Artwork Made the Place Exceptional

From: David - Stayed February 2015

I loved staying here! The beds were extremely comfortable. The house was clean and well stocked. The place was easy to find and pretty convenient to get supplies and things. All of the wood in the house made it feel very warm and inviting and the artwork made the place exceptional - not just any vacation rental. I left inspired and (almost) ready to get back to reality. I still cannot decide if my favorite part of the vacation was the view I woke up to each morning or the times my friends and I made dinner together and spent the evening on the terrace (yes, in February - it was gorgeous)!


Penland Artist Inspired by Conley House!

From: Rich - Stayed February 2015

As an artist I felt inspired by just being at the place! The artwork, the view, being in the mountains - it was great!I wish I could live there. Some of the things my spouse and I enjoyed were: - eating out on the terrace - waking up, opening our eyes and seeing such an outstanding view every morning! (the beds were comfortable, too) - watching TV in the bathtub (decadent) - having friends over for dinner. What a great place to entertain! - walking up the hill behind the house to take in the peace and quiet. - it was so easy to get in and out of the house with groceries and luggage There was lots more, somethings you just can't put into words. I highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers